Tips On Getting Back Into Writing

For the past year now, I have secretly been struggling to get back into the habit of fiction writing. Last summer, I was writing in any spare moment, it was all I was doing, and I loved it more than anything. But then I got a second job, and then started my first year at University, and I just got out of it. Like that, my favourite thing in the world became something I just didn’t do anymore.

I’m not a professional writer or anything, my degree isn’t a creative writing degree, but everyone who knew me knew that I want to be a writer in my life time. That my goal is to write and publish a book. All the time people would ask me how my writing is going, what I’m writing, and I would just be blunt and shake it off and try really hard to change the subject.

But recently, I feel like I’m starting to get it back. That passion for creating something new. The beginnings of getting back into writing. Its the small things i’ve been doing that is getting that creative energy buzzing. And I thought I would share with you my tips on getting back into the wonderful world of writing.

  1. 1) Daydreaming Through The Mundane 

This is really important to me for getting ideas. In my day job as a cleaner/chambermaid I am doing the same, mundane, tasks each morning. You don’t need to concentrate while hoovering or making beds, its just a habit, so I let my mind daydream while doing this. If I didn’t have this job I wouldn’t have time to daydream so much and it is while I am daydreaming that I am thinking about my characters, building them, thinking of the dialogue. It also makes the job of cleaning less boring.

If you have a job like this, or a job in a factory, somewhere that you can daydream, make the most of it. Be thinking of your characters, it will make you more interested in them, more invested if you keep them in your mind. Or even be thinking of them while brushing your teeth and washing. In any spare moment, have them in your head. It will make you want to sit down and write.

        2)  Paintings

You want to write right now? Google this-

~ Painting of a lonely lady

Take the first picture your eye catches on google pictures. She’s the main character. Write from her. What is her name, her life, her family, her situation? Carry on writing.

Now google this-

~Painting of forest

Do the same with this. Imagine yourself there, what do you see? Are there any animals or mythical creatures hiding?

Paintings can be so influential. Just looking up them or going to the gallery/museum in your local town can really inspire new writing.

         3)  Theatre

I really believe that going to the theatre can really inspire your creative mind. There might be a character you really like and you want to base a story off that, or write a sequel to it. Just like reading, watching plays can inspire new characters and plots. It doesn’t have to be expensive either, you can try and volunteer with a local theatre if you can’t afford it otherwise.

         4)  Music

This is also really important to me. I write faster, my thoughts run quicker, when I am listening to music in the background. Just listening to a song in the car can give me lots of ideas. But to me its the fantasy soundtracks that inspire me the most. The Doctor Who theme songs and soundtrack, for example, really help me write my ideas down. Murray Gold has something in his music that makes writing so much better.

If you google fantasy music so much amazing and inspirational music will be there, and it can help with scene setting or help you write a fighting scene or an emotional one. Something I love to listen to is https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qfl9VX5fAdY – or google “World’s Most Emotional Music – 2 Hours Epic Music Mix Vol 1 Youtube”.

It will encourage you to daydream, and get those story ideas!

***

Those are the things that make me feel like writing. If you have any tips, I’d love to hear them in the comments!

Book love,

 

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 14.57.45

3 Comments Add yours

  1. aubreyleaman says:

    Love these ideas! You can also listen to a piece of classical music when you’re not writing and imagine who the characters might be and what they might be doing if it were a movie score. It’s really fun and gets the creative juices flowing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amberley says:

      Thankyou! Yes I really agree, there’s something about the music that just makes you imagine..

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

