Reading Recommendations For November

November is here- it’s now finally socially acceptable to think about Christmas (at least I hope so!), the days are darker, and its the time to light the candles and have the fairy lights on while drinking a cup of hot chocolate.

And many of these things mean that November is a cosy stay at home time of year, and therefore a perfect time to do some reading!!

When it comes to this time of year I like reading things that are cosy, warm, and a nice escapism from my daily life, a book that gives a kind of warmth away from the cold outside.

Here are some recommendations~~

A Simple Heart by Gustave Flaubert, A Short Story

This is a short story about Felicite, based in France in the 19th century, and centres around the trials of her life, and toward the end, her love of her parrot. But the thing I loved and found comforting about this storyΒ was the beautiful, bountiful use of detail. The detail from this story held a comfort in the descriptions of the home, and the simplicity of the story felt like a comforting read for November.

The Grimms Fairytales, The Grimm Brothers, Collection of Stories

Talking of short stories, fairytales are perfect for this time of year. Sometimes when it’s dark outside, and you just want to curl up with tea among the fairy lights, a bit of magic and quirky tales are just the thing that’s needed. The Grimm Fairytales can be quite dark, and shocking, but nevertheless they are comforting to read, and quick, so the perfect thing to read while having a cup of tea and slice of cake. It’s something about the darker days of November that make fairy tales seems all the more appealing to me.

Elizabeth is Missing by Emma Healey, Novel

This book feels very Autumnal to me, perfect for the months where the leaves are falling from the trees. The book is based on an older lady who has dementia, and is trying to solve a puzzle about her friend Elizabeth, whilst also trying to remember what was happening in the past, to uncover this puzzle. It is an engaging, beautifully written book, and Maud is a character I feel like I like to spend my November days with.

Emily Bronte’s Poetry Collection

I find Emily Bronte’s poetry so comforting to read on a cold evening, her descriptions of the cold, of the night, of nature falling away– her collection of poetry is perfect for November reading.

Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte, novel

Talking of her poetry, her novel also has that quality of escapism that you want in November, with the passion and desire and madness of this novel, it is a beautiful book to escape to on a cold windy night. This book is definitely harder to read on a sunny day in the summer, it’s a winter book to me, with its windy and dark location– making it great to read this month.

The Harry Potter Series

And finally, this time of year is when I start to feel in the Harry Potter spirit. With Harry Potter having so many memories of Christmas for me, and with the books celebrating Christmas so well, I like to reread the series starting November, so that I might finish the series in January time. When I think of Christmas I think Harry Potter, so with November being near to Christmas time, I thought I had have the series on my list.

I hope you enjoyed my post, and if you have any recommendations of cosy November reads, then please let me know in the comments!

Book love,

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 14.57.45

 

Leave a Reply

