The Books I Really Want To Read In 2017

2017, it’s a new year, and a new chance to read the books all the books I’ve wanted to read, but never got round to in 2016, or the years before. It will happen this year though, it will. So, if you’re interested, here are the books that I think look wonderful and so are going to try my upmost best to read. If you’ve read any of them, please let me know what you thought in the comments, whether your opinion on them was good or bad! I’d love to know. So here they are, the books that cannot wait on the shelves any longer-

The Lie Tree by Francis Hardinge

unknown

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Faith has a thirst for science and secrets that the rigid confines of her class cannot supress. And so it is that she discovers her disgraced father’s journals, filled with the scribbled notes and theories of a man driven close to madness. Tales of a strange tree which, when told a lie, will uncover a truth: the greater the lie, the greater the truth revealed to the liar. Faith’s search for the tree leads her into great danger – for where lies seduce, truths shatter . . .

I’m not sure which intrigues me more, the synopsis or the cover, but it looks dark and its a YA and I have seen a lot of good reviews. Overtime I go into Waterstones there is a note underneath the book recommending it, so I though this looks like it would be an interesting read full of surprises and mystery.

Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

missperegrinecover

Synopsis from Goodreads:

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

I’ve seen mixed thoughts about this one, but I still really want to read it, as the idea behind the book of using photographs for the story sounds really interesting to me. Flicking through my copy it’s like a book I have never read before, as it looks creepy, and that isn’t usually a genre I go for. But I want to read it for that reason, as I think it’s good to read things sometimes we wouldn’t normally think of reading, so I want to read this as it looks so different to what I usually read.

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

monster-calls

Synopsis from Goodreads:

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.

I really, really, really want to read this. And I have for ages, I don’t know why it’s still on the shelves. It’s in the cinema at the moment, but I don’t want to watch the film until it’s read, as this looks like a really touching story. It reminds me of when I was younger and had a repetitive dream of a monster that was coming to get me, it used to always slam the door and make this same, strange sound. This book looks gripping, and that is just the kind of escapism book I want to read.

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott

216228

Synopsis from Goodreads:

Following the lives of four sisters on a journey out of adolescence, Louisa May Alcott’s Little Women explores the difficulties associated with gender roles in a Post-Civil War America.

The goodreads synopsis makes it sound not that great, but I have seen the film of this book and loved it, and heard a lot of good thing about it. It follows the lives of sisters, who are under the financial strain while their father is at war. But the thing that makes me really want to read this book is the cosy, warm, winter feeling that this book projects to me. I love reading books about families, about sisters in the domestic, like I Capture the Castle and Pride and Prejudice, as they give to me such an escapism vibe as something I always wanted was more sisters, so that is something I personally love to read. Also, Jo wants to be a writer, and as I do too, there is already a liking towards the heroine.

Anything by Enid Blyton

She’s my mum’s favourite writer, and, as I love love to read children’s books, it is kind of awful that I have still never read one of her books. Do you have a favourite? If you do, leave them in the comments! I really want to read her writing, but have no idea which ones to go for. All I know is that I cannot go another year without having read any Enid Blyton.

Book love and best wishes for the new year,

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 14.57.45

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I felt like I was the only one who hasn’t read Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children, I do want to get around to reading it but I just haven’t yet. I do plan on reading it, hopefully in the near future
    – Yasmin

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amberley says:

      I understand what you mean, I felt like it was something many people have already read!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

