How To Make Jane Austen Proud Of You

2017 is a new chance to be different, to do different things, think differently, act differently… but have you always wanted to be like a character from a Jane Austen novel? Well here is your chance. With the excuse of the new year, here are some tips in how to be like somebody straight out of an Austen novel.

  1. Speak generally, you’ll be intelligent if you do

‘I speak what appears to me the general opinion; and where an opinion is general, it is usually correct’. -Mansfield Park

2. Don’t be lazy

‘One had rather, on such occasions, do too much than too little’. -Sense and Sensibility

3. Don’t let others take control of you

‘I will be calm. I will be mistress of myself’. -Sense and Sensibility

4. Be content with yourself

‘Her own thoughts and reflections were habitually her best companions’ -Mansfield Park

5. Never restrict your imagination

‘A Lady’s imagination is very rapid; it jumps from admiration to love, from love to matrimony in a moment’ -Pride and Prejudice

6. Fall in love greatly, or do not fall in love at all

‘When I fall in love, it will be forever’ -Sense and Sensibility

7. Don’t change yourself for the man you like

‘Men of sense, whatever you choose to say, do not want silly wives’ -Emma

8. Be picky

‘The more I know of the world, the more I am convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!’ -Sense and Sensibility

9. Read a lot

‘Oh! I am delighted with the book! I should like to spend my whole life in reading it’ -Northanger Abbey

10. And lastly, be sociable, you must be all about those balls.

‘One can never have too large a party’ -Pride and Prejudice

Now you have some tricks in how to be one of the ladies of the early 19th century.

Book love,

Screen Shot 2016-07-16 at 14.57.45

Leave a Reply

