What Makes A Book A Favourite?

Whenever anybody used to ask me what my favourite book was, I would straight away say Jane Eyre. It was an immediate response, I never had to think, the words just came out of my mouth and it was known to all around me that I was a Jane Eyre girl. But then they would ask me why, they would say – why is it your favourite book? – and I would have absolutely no idea.

I’d start by saying about the plot, how I found it so interesting, but I knew that wasn’t what made it a favourite. I would then think that it was the first classic I ever read, that it made me the reader that I am now, but then I think why is my favourite then not Twilight? That was the book that really got me into reading all the time.

I’ll carry on thinking, trying to find my reason, and skimming past are thoughts that it has elements of the gothic, it has a girl growing up, it has a freaking mad woman it has… it has… but why on earth is it my favourite?

Since I was 15 it was my favourite. But last month it got over taken. I re read Wuthering Heights. I re read Jane Eyre. And now when somebody asks, what is your favourite book, the immediate response, without thinking, is Wuthering Heights.

After years of always saying Jane Eyre, suddenly the immediate response was something else.

I don’t think we have to have a reason for having a favourite book, a book that just feels really right when its in your hands, it doesn’t have to be because you love the story or the characters and it doesn’t matter if it changes.

I think a favourite book has a bound of its own, it doesn’t have to be justified, it is your favourite because of the completely valid reason that it just is.

We change as we grow older, andย the things we want in a book change as we read and read and read.

Do you think we have to have reasons for why we have something as a favourite? If so, what makes a book your favourite? Or am I not the only one in thinking its completely fine for a book to be your favourite, to reach for it again and again, for no reason at all, or at least one you are not conscious of.

I think I like that idea more. It makes it seem more like a favourite book isย something unconscious, it is the reader in you that made it a favourite, not your normal, everyday self, but the inner reader.

Maybe picking up a favourite is picking up the thing that your soul really needs.

Just something to think about — Are we conscious when we say that something is our favourite?

Book love,

Amberley

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. quiverquotes says:

    What you say is interesting, especially since I’m the opposite. Growing up, I didn’t know how to answer the “favourite book” question, other than with “what do you mean, can you be more specific?” When somebody did specify, I’d still have trouble answering with conviction. You could say that I didn’t feel strongly in favour any one book, even if I did feel strongly about some.

    Today, years later, the question is both easier and harder to answer. I have a clearer idea of what constitutes a good book in my opinion (in terms of vaguely objective criteria and in terms of personal preference). But I’ve also read a wider variety of books, and therefore someone really has to specify what they mean: non-fiction or fiction, novel or poetry or play, literary novel or genre, hardboiled crime from the sixties or hardboiled cyberpunk, love story or murder mystery, English or Serbian or German or other foreign literature in translation etc … you get the idea!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Amberley says:

      It is interesting how so many people can have such a different view and way that they look on it, as I don’t even consider different genres at all. But the favourite book question does get a lot of variety which makes it interesting I think

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Amberley, my name is Gregory Thomas. Thank you for liking my poems on my blog at
    Cascadialegends.wordpress.com
    I thank you very much, and will be sure to check out your writing as well. Let’s keep in touch. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

