My Favourite Reading Accessories

It’s a known fact that reading is better with a cup of tea and a snack, with a particular favourite reading nook, and amongst your favourite things. So I wanted to write a blog post showing all my favourite reading accessories, the things I love to have near me and with me while I read, to make me feel even more cosy, happy, and bookish. Yes, I definitely feel that the word ‘bookish’ can be used as an emotion. So here they are—

  1. A literary or fandom mug.

I have quite a few bookish mugs, but this is definitely my favourite. I love it because it has so many little illustrations of main characters from Jane Austen novels, but what is the most lovely thing is that they are all in action, with some dancing, fainting, proposing, playing the piano… it is lovely and delicate. You can buy it online atย https://www.janeausten.co.uk for ยฃ12.50.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.29.20

2. My favourite tea to go in that mug.

I can drink pretty much any tea while reading, as I am an avid tea drinker. But my favourite tea is my Alice in Wonderland tea. I am very aware that this tea is just really normal tea, it is three little tins of earl grey, afternoon and morning tea but the beautiful alice in wonderland illustrations on the tins is enough to trick me that I really drinking lovely bookish tea. I bought my set from a beautiful sweets shop in Cambridge, but you can also buy it online on amazon.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.31.17

3. Bookish coasters for the mug to be placed on.

I love to place my mugs of tea on coasters, and what better than a bookish coaster? My favourite is this Harry Potter coaster that I received in an illumicrate subscription box, and is illustrated by the very talented Tara, you can find her designs on instagram at @taratjah.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.29.32

4. A scarf to wrap up into.

I love scarfs all times of the year, even summer! They make me feel so much more cosier while reading, and my favourite type of scarfs are blanket ones, so I can choose to either have it as a scarf, a shawl, or as a blanket.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.29.51

5. Fairy lights!!

Because they just make everything better, don’t they? Mine have pink and purple flowers, and are from a little independent shop. But any fairy lights looks wonderful, and you can get lots of good ones from Primark and Amazon.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 13.01.40

6. A candle.

I must admit, I rarely read with candles on but I still love having them near me, just to smell their gorgeous smell. This one is from book and nook, and it is a Ravenclaw candle. You can buy lots of wonderful bookish candles from their easy shop atย https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/BookAndNook.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.30.13

7. Sticky notes and a pen.

These are great for marking your favourite pages and jotting down notes while reading. I always find it very useful to have these around, and you can find them in most stores.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.31.54

8. Favourite bookmarks.

I love this one, because it has books on it. I must admit though… I could do with more bookmarks, you can never have enough.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 13.01.20

9. Socks or fluffy footlets.

I got these in Primark, and they are the comfiest things ever.

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.30.26

11. And finally— my reading friend, Brownie.

Because he is cute and sometimes looks into my book and never bothers me by talking to me while I am trying to read…

Screen Shot 2017-07-04 at 12.30.46

So that is it, my favourite things to have with me while I am reading along with my book filled with adventure. Do you also love to have some of these things with you while you are reading? Are there any must-haves for you that I have missed? I would love to know in the comments!

Happy reading and book love,

Amberley

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

